Howl at the Moon

Daily Prompt Challenge – The Daily Post – Howl at the Moon

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” — Allen Ginsberg
Do you follow Ginsberg’s advice — in your writing and/or in your everyday life?

I have read of wolves in George R.R. Martin‘s A Song of Ice and Fire series and watched werewolves in Twilight and Underworld movie series. I have nothing to do with that sort of thing, if it’s moonlight which starts to take control over my shape shifting stuff.

On the other hand, if there is sunlight within, why does one need moonlight, I’d ask? Should someone have moonlight every time? Is this about the dark side of someone, or the psycho side of the human behaviour? The point for this daily prompt is not specific, and there is a lot of ambiguity in what it has to mention.

For the sake of this discussion, I think I shall put moonlight in such a form:

Inner Moonlight – The ability of allowing to glow with the light of the moon, even when all the sunlight has drowned below, and darkness has crawled into someone’s life. It is how the sun would look like after a supernova occurred.

If it is what I say above, there has never been such a time when darkness surrounded me. I have willed myself to keep it out of reach, by either running, or fighting it when there is no other escape route available. I might be vague in saying this, but the kind of darkness involved within my life is very dark. Even the mention of it in words could give it power to get back out of the darkest regions where it’s been isolated and kept remote from my life.

As far as the Inner Moonlight is concerned, there is something called as intuition, which I recalled now, by which one finds his/her own way, when someone gets lost in their way. One of the best ways to realise and understand is that you are never practically lost. It is only the belief of getting lost. It also goes for something that you might act and react based on a certain activity or incident which triggers one to execute certain actions to solve a given problem.

You might say, I’m more of a preacher then approaching in practical life. There are many examples I could quote, but I do not see the reason to put them up. I’m sure such situations must have risen in your life some time.

Well, I simply howl for the madness in me. And if you have found it to be a muse, then so be it. I wonder how mad I have been, as compared to the real howlers who howl in the dark night and act based on their inner moonlight.

Refer to several similar entries of the same daily prompt on the next page:

  1. From Balderdash To Epiphany.Hidden In Plain Sight
  2. Perspectives on life, universe and everythingI won’t take tea with you
  3. Perspectives on life, universe and everythingEmotional baggage
  4. Vexing PointHowl at the Moon
  5. Beth ByrnesOblivio Oblivias Obliviat
  6. psychologistmimiDuck it! Here’s a a poem with no rhyme or reason
  7. Just Writing!My Inner Moonlight?
  8. Bob’s Blog-O-RamaDaily Prompt : Howl at the Moon
  9. alightningbugHowl at the Moon
  10. Darkness |
  11. TidlidimDaily Prompt – Howl at the Moon
  12. Rubber Tyres –> Smooth RidesHowl at the Moon: Werewolf
  13. Rideo, Ergo SuperoHowling at the Moon
  14. The Wandering PoetBeyond the stillness..
  15. Awake & DreamingThe Inned Moonlight Madness
  16. To Pursue HappinessTry Enthusiasm
  17. yin the middle of
  18. The Wandering PoetAll I can tell you is..
  19. yi-ching lin photographyhowl
  20. funnierrevoltRestart
  21. KindlingWordBubble Wrapped
  22. The ‘Pen’lightenment of the soulLIFE IS SHORT – BE MAD..BE CRAZY !
  23. The Lark’s RoostMadness as Methodology
  24. crashcoursedummymistakes
  25. A lot from LydiaMadness
  26. risingrave28In Another Dimension
  27. Passion through PoetryFace behind the Facade
  28. Keyboard PizzaHowl at the Moon
  29. you ain’t specialCan You Use It In A Sentence?
  30. The Undaunted Blue Madness Of My LifeNOT SO EASY
  31. Hope* the happy huggerLiving in my own madness.
  32. ROUND THE WORDMy Blog Is My Selfie
  33. A Nameless SpaceFace to Face
  34. stream of consciousnessHOWL AT THE MOON
  35. Designer SophisticateNever be afraid to be yourself.
  36. I’m a Writer, Yes I AmCool Kids
  37. Megan ElizabethHowl At The Moon
  38. lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-BrownTwo Poems from a Night with No Moon
  39. Mojowritin’The Telling Stump – A Green Lake Tale
  40. DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on SocietyMagnotta Trial: Shawshank Redemption or One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest.
  41. Chronicles of an Anglo SwissHowl at the Moon – and WordPress
  42. ….on pets and prisoners…..daily prompt: howl at the moon
  43. this is my journeyMy Words Are Liquid Gold
  44. sixty, single and survivingI Like Crazy.
  45. Prairie ViewsFollow Your Madness
  46. Rolbos ©Everybody has a You
  47. Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and ClawsDaily Post – Howl at the Moon
  48. A Penny For Her ThoughtsHowl At The Moon
  49. Quit blogging or else
  50. (A Day in the Life) Un Giorno Nella VitaHowl at the Moon
  51. MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHOunlock the mind
  52. joatmon14War Inside My Head
  53. Walk With MeOh please
  54. simplygiselleShine from the inside
  55. As I See ItRelease
  56. asterretha d.forces forcing
  57. My Inner Harvest Moon
  58. Flowers and BreezesIt Won’t Come Out Ever
  59. Stuff and NonsenseHowling
  60. Barryjack’s PlaceJust Be
  61. this, right nowthe moon’s calling
  62. When My Brain FartsThe Good, The Bad, and the Crazy.
  63. Geek Ergo SumMy Inner Moonlight
  64. Raspberry’s DaydreamsFor the Readers
  65. Red’s WrapBend in New Places
  66. Random MusingsOh the places I’ve been
  67. Just a TypeDay 1
  68. DestinoHowl at the Moon: Daily Post
  69. My Simple LifeThe different side of me
  70. Lemon Lime FolliesMoonlight Composure
  71. River of Life FlowsHowl at the Moon
  72. perferviddreams
  73. Thoughts from the FrontEmbracing the Weird
  74. Emotional FitnessHow To Forgive Others and Yourself – Five tips
  75. An Upturned SoulMooning at the Howl
  76. MC’s WhispersLunar or looney?
  77. soul n spiritI am Moon !!!
  78. A Just Man Is Hard to FindThe Island’s Muses
  79. All Things Cute and BeautifulBeing Mad!
  80. wtf Am I On About Now?It depends
  81. A Little FluffHowl at the Moon ……….
  82. TransitionsThe Moon Over Marlow’s Bay (Narrative Poem)
  83. MonkebusAwake
  84. itsyouandeverythingBlogging 101: Make a Prompt Personal
  85. LifeDurga Puja 2014 in Mumbai
  86. life as sirliBeing mad
  87. beginnersblessingsHowl at the Moon
  88. Morrighan’s MuseSecret Moonlight
  89. Howl at the Moon – Vintage 1956
  90. The Gad About TownYour Inner Bliss Moonlight and Madness: Follow It
  91. Half as long, Twice as brightWe crazy gods!!
  92. Life is greatSanity
  93. Po’ Girl ShinesHowl at the Moon and Other Stuff
  94. From Slacker To ScribeHowl at the Moon
  95. ~axe~why~zet~~It has always been there, you just have to notice it
  96. U Be CuteHow to create a Master piece
  97. The Ring LadyHistories Gallery (Howl at the Moon)
  98. Traversing LinesBeauty and Madness: 37-Year Journey
  99. My Decade Long TravelsThe Person I Am Not
  100. INSPIRING MAXHowling At The Moon
  101. Barbara PyettTo a friend– freedom: Howl at the moon
  102. Lost in trafficmy madness,my spark light
  103. Thank You, Great SpiritHowl at the Moon
  104. Marci, Mental Health, & MoreSome fun WordPress prompts
  105. eastelmhurst.a.go.gotales from the dark side
  106. Raspberry’s DaydreamsMy blog.. A place I can be myself
  107. zen and π
  108. Moni’s WorldHappy Autumn!
  109. Day to Spade
  110. [O.L.D.] Old London DocksHappy Autumn! (Post-103710)
  111. Second SocialHappy Autumn!
  112. Spirit RevolutionFollow Your Inner Moonlight
  113. Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOGFollowing your inner voice
  114. Chapter Thirty ConfessionsHowl at the Moon
  115. Dyslexia and MeDyslexia Awareness Month: Howl at the Moon
  116. The Essence Of Being MelancholyDaily Prompt – Howl At The Moon
  117. Random Acts of SnarkHowl at the Moon

Leave a comment